East Texan of the Year

Pictured, from left, are state Rep. Travis Clardy, Bill Elliott, DETCOG board president Bill Holder, DETCOG vice-president Roy Boldon, DETCOG secretary Allison Harbison and DETCOG secretary-elect Jeff Boyd.

The Deep East Texas Council of Governments named East Texas entrepreneur Bill Elliott as the 2020 Ralph W. Steen Memorial East Texan of the Year Monday.

“We’ve just been fortunate to have the right people at the right time in the right place,” Elliott said after receiving the award. “I’m very flattered with this.”

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.