Sabastion Porter

Sabastion Porter

In the first year that the American State Player of the Year Award added a South Division, a weekly winner from the South captured the top honor.

Groveton quarterback Cade Steubing was named the American State Bank Player of the Year Monday night at the Green Acres Crosswalk Conference Center.

“This is amazing,” Steubing said on stage after he accepted his trophy from Tim Haugh. “First and foremost, I want to thank God. I also want to thank my teammates and coaching staff.”

Steubing had some of his teammates with him on Monday. And of course, his head coach, Richard Steubing — also his father — was in attendance.

Steubing was 135-of- 231 through the air for 2,591 yards with 33 touchdowns and nine interceptions. He carried the ball 126 times for 806 yards and 11 touchdowns. On defense, Steubing had 79 tackles, six for loss. He intercepted two passes and recovered five fumbles helping lead the Indians to the fourth round of the Class 2A playoffs.

Previous winners of the American State Bank Player of the Year Award were Patrick Mahomes of Whitehouse (2012, 2013), who will start for the Kansas City Chiefs in the Super Bowl on Sunday, Zach Hall of Tyler Lee (2014) and Bryson Smith of John Tyler (2015, 2016), Garrett Moseley of Van (2017) and Haynes King of Longview (2018).

The Allen Wilson Coach of the Year went to Carthage’s Scott Surratt, who was unable to be in attendance on Monday. Surratt is 164-28 in 13 seasons at Carthage and just led the Bulldogs to their seventh state title during his tenure.

Wilson was in attendance on Monday.

The guest speaker at Monday’s event was former Dallas Cowboys defensive tackle Chad Hennings.

Hennings was selected in the 11th round of the 1988 NFL Draft but had committed to serving in the Air Force. Weekly winners, who received $2,500 college scholarships from ASB, throughout the season were Van quarterback Jayton Moffatt, Mount Enterprise quarterback Kendre Miller, Jacksonville receiver Chris Carpenter, Diboll running back D’Aris McMillan, Pine Tree receiver/cornerback Keelan Turner, Timpson quarterback/linebacker Braden Courtney, Chapel Hill quarterback Kobe Coker, Alto defensive tackle Todd Duplichain, Grace Community running back Jeremiah Milton, Alto quarterback/linebacker Harmon West, Spring Hill quarterback Gage White, Garrison running back/linebacker Sabastion Porter, Longview running back Kaden Meredith, Center quarterback Jake Hanson, Whitehouse quarterback Kaden Casey, Lufkin quarterback Jordan Moore, Carlisle running back/linebacker Jamion Turner, Logansport (Louisiana) running back Xavier Simpson, Brook Hill running back/linebacker Nico Flores, Alto running back Aaron Skinner, Lindale running back Jordan Jenkins and Groveton’s Steubing.

Milton’s older brother Ethan Milton was a weekly winner of the award in 2016 for Bishop Gorman.

It was the first time one school had three players win a weekly award in the same season as Alto accomplished the honor in 2019.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.